Chain replacement?

Discussion in 'Road Bikes' started by Mike1jw, Aug 27, 2009.

1. Mike1jw

Mike1jw Member

I was told by a bike shop mechanic that a road bike chain should be relaced about every 5000 miles. Is that true?

The reason I ask is, I'm in the market for a new road bike and dont know if want to spend my life maintaining it.

I have a 20+ year old Giant Sedona mountain bike and have never even cleaned the chain. Never did anything to the bike, and it's still doing the job. A little tired, but it still rolls. I think if I cleaned it now, it would break.

Mike

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

How many miles on that Sedona? And how smoothly does it shift?

3. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

Chain wear depends on more factors than mileage. Chains are replaced as needed. You will probably get more miles out of a road bike chain than a mtn bike chain. I replace the chains on my singlespeed mtn bikes every year. I don't get anywhere near 5000 miles out of those chains.

Chain replacement is basic maintainence and bikes do require periodic maintainence. In addition to the chain, the cassette and chainrings should be replace at the same time since they all wear together.

The old stuff was more forgiving because the chains were bigger and bikes 20 years ago had fewer gears, but even that stuff needs to be replaced eventually.

4. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Oh yeah. I never broke an eight speed chain, but did break a nine. Skinny little ten speed chains would fear me.

5. Mike1jw

Mike1jw Member