Clueless newbie... help?

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by Javaslinger, Sep 6, 2011.

1. Javaslinger

Javaslinger New Member

Looking to get a bike to do rail trails and road biking... my LBS have Raleigh, Trek, Cannondale, and Janis in the area...

It's been pouring all week so I haven't been able to test drive a things, but I've been soaking up the reviews...

I'm looking to spend $750 to $1000... I guess I'm presently most interested int the Trek DS series, the Quick CX series, and the Janis Coda series? I'm intrigued by the 'steel frame' mania some seem to have...

My main concern is that these are too far towards 'mountain bikes' and I won't really enjoy road biking on them...

I'm a beginner cyclist and heavy... 220lbs 5' 7"... Hoping to do fitness biking/commuting as well.

Any advice?

Javasligner

2. BeginnerCycling

BeginnerCycling Active Member

If your only off-pavement riding will be rail trails, I wouldn't worry too much about off-road ability. Seems like you might be fine with a "regular" (not CX) Quick.

3. wild

wild Yesterday tired old man, Today retired old man

I realy like my Jamis Aurora Elite the steel frame and fork + the 700x32 tires make for a realy good ride. I did change the saddle to a Sella an atomica. You should be able to get it for a little over your top price with some hagaling. good luck on your shoping.
    ¢¢

4. EvilGreg

EvilGreg Member

Look at the Trek FX line. I have the Trek 7.3 FX and it would probably fit your wants very well. I am currently thinking about selling it and going to a road bike like the Trek 1.2. I have enjoyed the 7.3 but really ride road all of the time and want drop bars.

5. BeginnerCycling

BeginnerCycling Active Member