Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for some feedback to help with an upcoming article I'm working on. If you could share some info about your commute, it would be much appreciated. Helpful info would be distance, what kind of weather you commute in, and what you carry, along with how you carry it, ie: backpack, panniers, etc.

When I commuted in Australia, it was about ten miles each way, in hot and humid conditions. I used panniers to keep my back dry, but I think a hydration pack would have been a welcome addition, since I changed my clothes at work anyway.

·
Slowin it up.
4,299 Posts
I backpack, three miles give or take a little both ways, regardless of weather, unless it is pouring rain. Not that I don't like riding in the rain, it gives me headaches.

I tend to go for the pretty ride, as opposed to the quick one, I leave about 20 minutes before I have to, just making sure I can give myself enough time to smell the roses, if it's rose season. Otherwise, it's nice to start my work day with a nonchalant rambling.

All that is about to change though.

·
Banned
400 Posts
Panniers are the only way to go. I have it on my other comfort bike I use to use for commuting short distances. Everyone should have a spare tire and pump and a multi-tool or allan wrench to make adjustments or tighten things if necessary.

·
Slowin it up.
4,299 Posts
There's a guy on my route with panniers, back pack and a trailer. It looks heavy and he moves slow. I may try to talk to him and invite him over.

·
retromike3
274 Posts
commuter in the swamp

I live in Beaverton Oregon USA and it is in what is referred to as a temperate rain forrest. It seem to rain all of the time here and its usually cold. My commuter bike has a full set of fenders and it even has an extra mud guard that keeps my feet drier so they don't fall asleep.(ouch)