Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Like the title says I am a newbie. I haven't ridden a bike in 10+ years. I am looking to get back into riding as a form of exercise and enjoyment. Here is my main problem, what bike to get. The majority of my riding will be on the roads in a small town that is very hilly and most rides will be a few miles. I would like to eventually branch out into some longer rides on more main roadways in the 5-10 mile range. I really don't care what type of Bike I have as long as it is in the $500-$700 range. I have a bike shop around me so I can get properly fitted but I need a starting point. I really like the way mountain bikes look but don't know if they make one that is functional for roads and hills.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
A hybrid would suit you well. The geometry is going to be less aggressive (read:more comfortable) than a road bike or MTB, and will most likely include a suspension fork, and possible a suspension seatpost, which will take the edge off poor road surfaces. Any bike with a triple - three chainrings up front, will likely offer the gearing you'll need for hills.

I'm partial to Giant, but what do your local shops carry?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks IH. I'm heading to the shop tomorrow to see what selection they have. At this point I am trying to get a start and your suggestion of a hybrid seems to be just what I'm looking for. If they carry Giant can you give me a suggestion of a model to look at in my price range?

Thanks again

·
Registered
179 Posts
The Expert?

I'm not sure what you are asking. I kinda new to bikes as well.

My bike is made by Specialized and is called a crosstrail at least that is what it says on the frame.