Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to cycling and I'm just using my phone at the moment for GPS navigation for my rides out. I'm considering getting a GPS computer but I have no idea what to get. Tbh I want something that isn't more expensive than my bike (£400) bit I only really want it for navigation purposes as I have moved house and don't fancy getting lost round here.

Thanks.

·
Administrator
9,948 Posts
If your phone has Bluetooth 4.0, you can continue using it as your GPS bike computer along with a Wahoo RFLKT ($99.00 USD). If you have an iPhone 4S or newer, you can use the RFLKT+ ($129.00 USD) which has an Ant+ bridge for using Ant+ sensors, such as Garmin speed/cadence and heart rate monitor. You will also need a cycling app that will send the data to the RFLKT so it can display it on its screen. Wahoo has a free app that has pretty much what you need. It is an inexpensive alternative to expensive GPS cyclometers. Since the RFLKT displays all the data, you don't need to keep your phone display on and use up your battery. Or, you can look into the Garmin line of cyclometers.

Reactions: newleaf150

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks but I need something for navigation purposes. I have a cycling computer that displays speed etc but I want something that I can find my way home on if I end up getting lost.

·
Two "Slow" Spoke
3,445 Posts
The cheapest Garmin unit that has navigation with Turn-by-Turn direction is the Garmin Touring device.

Reactions: newleaf150

·
Administrator
9,948 Posts
Thanks but I need something for navigation purposes. I have a cycling computer that displays speed etc but I want something that I can find my way home on if I end up getting lost.