Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new at road biking and I'm very proud of myself. Bought my bike 3 weeks ago and have put 150 miles on my bike so far. I am 6'0 240lbs so I am trying to lose some weight and change my diet and lifestyle. I need some help from the pros. Do you guys wear underwear under your bike shorts? Also my feet get really numb after about 15 miles any help with that? And what kind of stretches do you do before you ride?

·
Registered
748 Posts
1-Comando. Too much clothing will chafe.
2- Change the tightness of your shoes and make sure the cleats are set right. Pull up a few srtokes, that will help.
3- I'm not a streachy guy.(but that's me)

·
Two skinny J's
21,452 Posts
First welcome jeffryp! Sounds like you are on the right track. Not to be ugly but a quick search here will result in some good answers to your questions. Numb and tingling hands and feet have been somewhat of a hot topic over the last few weeks here and to save some redundancy, Ill get you started in the right direction.

And no, no tightie whites/boxers, etc :D under your "road" cycling shorts or bibs.

Remember to be as specific about issues you are dealing with, for examplpe, are you riding with clipless shoes and pedals or platforms ?

http://www.twospoke.com/forum/f40/numbness-my-feet-8887/
Here is a quick link from the search results here to help get ya started. Not trying to scare ya off, just point ya in the right direction. You will find many here ready to offer advice

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Sorry I didn't do my homework. That is great info! I don't have my cleats on the balls of my feet so I am going to tweak that and give you a report. I was going commando just making sure I wasn't the only one lol. Thanks guys on the quick response!

·
889 Posts
Just remember, going commando is for proper cycling shorts/bids.

·
Premium Member
6,015 Posts
Welcome!