Cranky old fart with a bad back

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by Weston, Mar 22, 2011.

1. Weston

Weston New Member

I know I can't be the first with this inquiry but here it goes.

Mid 50's wanting to bike for a number of reasons. Just local stuff on the flat Florida terrain. Trying to get some exercise and maybe run a few errands.

The problem is I have a herniated disk and sciatica. I tried out a recumbent briefly but it scared the hell out of me when traffic got within 10 feet of me. The people around here are not the most attentive drivers and unfortunately we have a pretty extensive population down here that continues to drive long after their vision and reflexes have deteriorated.

Any suggestions for a comfortable ride at a reasonable price that I can try out?

Or should I just take up swimming?:)

2. chibibike

chibibike Banned

my friend has a hybrid bike with a big wide cushy seat on it.

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

One of my rides is an Electra Jester cruiser. Springs on the wide seat, springer front end, and a three speed hub. It's comfy and damn fun. Unless you want to cover a lot of distance, I'd go with a beach cruiser over a hybrid.

4. photosbymark

photosbymark New Member

Instead of a full recumbent you might try a semi recumbent. I have a Sunray that isn't nearly as fast as a full recumbent, but offers some advantages. First is comfort and an upright seating position. You ride on what is basically a stadium seat looking seat with a back. You are far more visible to traffic because you are far more upright than you would be in a full recumbent. If you can sit on the edge of a seat with a straight back without pain, you probably could handle a Sunray.