Cruzbike question

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by trog, Jul 2, 2009.

1. trog

trog New Member

Anyone out there have any opinions re cruzbike recumbents. I know nothing and there is possibly a V2 for my price.

trog:D

2. Carol

Carol Guest

Recumbent or Cruz bikes

You may go to my website at Midwest Recumbent Bicycles and or e-mail me at [email protected] and I will be happy to help you. We are located in Mascoutah Illinois at 2 East Main Street.

Thank You

Carol

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

That didn't really provide any opinions on the Cruzbike, did it? Here's some of my commentary, which you can probably mostly ignore. The few comments folks have made might be more useful.

Post one, two, three, and four.

4. BlazingPedals

BlazingPedals Member

Industry_Hack, you seem to be of the opinion that if someone is uncomfortable on their upright, it's a fit problem. I disagree. In fact, I'd go so far as to say that a totally-comfortable upright is a myth; it's just that most riders are so used to it that it doesn't register. Virtually every upright rider in my club swears his bike is plenty comfy, but still I see them squirming on their saddles, shaking their numb hands during rides, massaging their shoulders at rest stops (stops that I don't need,) and I also hear them complaining about sore butts every spring as they're trying to get used to it again. What they're really saying is that their discomfort isn't enough to push them into getting one of those weird machines and they don't want to be proselytized.

That's cool, I respect their choice as long as they can respect mine.

I've test-ridden a Cruzbike and frankly I didn't like it. I don't consider them easy to learn at all. But there are a fair number of owners out there who apparently love them, so who am I to say they're no good? The only advice I'd give is "try before you buy" because Cruzbikes seem to be a love-or-hate thing.