Cruzbike Silvio

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by IanHighfield, Dec 31, 2009.

1. IanHighfield

IanHighfield New Member

I was just looking at a recumbent site (shoot me) and spied this front wheel drive design. I thought it did not look too terrible. I like the short chain length and the fact it looks more like a real bike. Does anyone own one these Silvio models?

I also read a story in which the writer pines for the US triathlon governing body to allow bents in their races since it is a time trial and not a group race. This is a very good idea.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

I've voiced an opinion about them before.

3. JohnnyMagic

JohnnyMagic New Member

Opinions pending

Here's my take on a FWD MBB;

[​IMG][/IMG]

[​IMG][/IMG]

Have only coasted around the driveway with no brakes and 1 gear. Interesting. 20.1 lbs, and I have a Zipp 404 that will shed 300g's.

Hopefully it will sprint and climb, better than an extreme loracer.

JM

4. IanHighfield

IanHighfield New Member

JohnnyMagic, for some reason that bike does not bring the bile up into my throat. It looks more functional in terms of leg position than a lowrider to me. But I've never sat one, just eyeball-wise.

If that bike is your design I have to figure you a trained or simply talented artist. Someone with an eye for lines.

What looks wrong to me is the grip position. Seems like they should be tilted down a little or maybe out? Like to see a human onboard to get a feel for what the arms and hands look like in position to ride.

5. JohnnyMagic

JohnnyMagic New Member

Hey Ian,

Look at the top (finnished bike) pic. Grips are tilted both, down and out.

I spend alot of time on grip position. 5 hrs. on a trainer with the loracer before building bars.

As far as the other comment goes; my bike rules, your bike sucks, seems to be the sentiment on these forums.