Cycling: Solo or Group Rides?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Myster, Oct 22, 2009.

1. Myster

Myster Guest

How do you prefer to cycle? I like solo. I find having people around is to much. If there not as serious as you are there talking instead of breathing and it causes issues. I cycle to get away form everything.

2. bankchick

bankchick New Member

I prefer group but see advantages to solo. We have a small group 4-5 and it can be slow going sometimes and hard to get everyone focused.

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Mountain biking with a group. Road bike solo.

4. CTD50

CTD50 DX's Biggest Member

No real preference; both have their goods & bads -- the main thing is, I'm RIDING!

5. djcyberlegend

djcyberlegend Group rookie

Mainly a lone wolf right now, may start going with groups next season.

6. eaton

eaton New Member

Both. Like the differences between the two.

Today's my solo day. Bye.

7. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

I usually ride alone because it's easier to just grab your bike and hit the trail as opposed to organizing a group ride. I like to do both though.

8. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Solo because I have no choice. I commute and there's nobody on my path.

9. vitapimp

vitapimp New Member

small group, 3-4.

10. Cycle

Cycle Guest

Group, bigger the better.

11. whyeyebike

whyeyebike New Member

I like to change it up. I belong to a bike club that has regular rides, so when I want a group fix or I feel the need to be pushed a little harder; I go for a group ride. But most of my riding is solo which I do prefer. Solo allows me to go at my own pace depending on how I am feeling that day.

12. Michigander

Michigander Member

Group rides are better. But often hard to arrange.

13. mikebike

mikebike Florida Cyclist

I like a group on the road....albeit a smaller group. The logistics can be a pain.