Cyclist Gets Ticketed Outside Office

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by TxCyclist, Jan 7, 2010.

1. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff

Heard the bullhorn siren and see a LEO pulling over a cyclist. Took the thrash out to eavesdrop and thought I overheard him saying he ran a stop sign and impeded traffic. Gotta follow the law!

Attached Files:

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Was he on a fixed gear?

3. ruggedscotsman

ruggedscotsman hardtail hardass

I know its strange, but I'm happy to hear this story. Too many cyclists ignore all the rules adding to the negative stereotype of cyclists held by many drivers.

4. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

That seems like a weird question. Is it because it's more difficult to stop?

5. synack

synack The Back Row

No, then he would have been ticketed for being a hipster. :)

6. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff

Nope. Geared MTB.

7. CTD50

CTD50 DX's Biggest Member

Not trying to be the curmudgeon here, but just because the cop pulled him over for it doesn't mean he did it; running the stop, probably, but 'impeding' is a judgment call, and the cops are notorious for poor judgment on that when it comes to bikes.

One man's 'taking the lane' is another man's 'impeding'.... Personally, I'll almost never side with the cops in a bike stop. When they can prove that a majority of them know WTF they're talking about regarding bike laws, I'll cut them some slack.

8. Industry_Hack

Many of them choose to ride brake-less, (or breakless ;)) and some municipalities have made it a habit of targeting them.

9. dcswan

dcswan New Member

impede [ɪmˈpiːd]
    vb
    (tr) to restrict or retard in action, progress, etc.; hinder; obstruct
    [from Latin impedīre to hinder, literally: shackle the feet, from pēs foot]