Desperate in Fairbanks

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by markmay, Jan 19, 2010.

1. markmay

markmay New Member

Hi All;

I have a 25 year old bike with a Sugino super maxy crank I need to find this 53 tooth big ring to keep it going. Sugino Mighty Competition chainring.

Any Help is appreciated,

Mark May

2. Engyo

Engyo Bent Newbie - old rider

There are some 51t, 52t and 54t Sugino rings on Ebay. There are also lots of 53T chainrings - the Shimano Dura Ace one looks a lot like the photo you linked from BF........

Last edited: Jan 19, 2010

3. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff

You should post more details here so people don't have to go to other forums to see what you need.

4. markmay

markmay New Member

Tried that

Hey, thanks, but I tried e bay and the ring didn't fit. I'm a novice so I can't measure a chain ring, but surfing I found a picture. I joined this forum, because I figured some hard core would bail me out.

Peace,

Mark

5. HandsomeRyan

HandsomeRyan ♥'s Bicycles

6. markmay

markmay New Member

Thanks. I'm a veterinarian and BCD is not in my vocabulary. If I put the micrometer on, is there a custom outfit that would mill me a chain ring? I'd even mail the ring in.

Thanks,

Mark May

7. Engyo

Engyo Bent Newbie - old rider

Amazon also has several Sugino 53T chainrings listed........but I can't tell you which one would fit your bike.

8. markmay

markmay New Member

Measurement

So If I find a 53T sugino chain ring what do I measure to get BCD, or whatever the critical measurement is.

Thanks,

9. Mootsguy

Mootsguy A Red Headed Stepchild

10. IanHighfield

IanHighfield New Member

markmay, have you gone into any bike shops and asked around? Most shops have tons of odd gears laying around. Might get it for a tetanus shot trade.

I like any man who is a veterinarian. I'm an animal lover with a clawless cat I rescued. Grew up with many dogs. Only date them now. Not enough room in my flat.