Disabled vet looking for bike sugestions

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by sam2021, Feb 27, 2010.

1. sam2021

sam2021 New Member

I am a disabled vet who is 5'7" tall and am looking to get a bike to help loose weight and commute to work. Anyone have any suggestions. I have looked at a Globe Carmel but not sure.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

At the risk of getting too personal, it would really help if you clued us in as to what your disability was. My friend's 13 year old rides with a prosthetic leg. Tara Llanes races downhill in what could best be described as a downhill wheelchair. I'm certain we can find something suitable for you.

3. sam2021

sam2021 New Member

I have a crushed vertebrate in my lower back and two replaced knees. High blood pressure and now arthritis.

4. fleeter

fleeter The Bearded Wonder

Geez... I crushed two of my vertebrae... not fun! I'm not sure, but I think recumbents take some strain off the back if you're not back to 100%... but the globe carmel would also put you in a position that isn't very aggressive.

5. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Upright position, low gearing, and a plush ride.

6. baj32161

baj32161 American Expatriate Tavern Member

Greetings....I'm afraid that I am not going to be much help in bike suggestions but I woud like to thank you for your sacrifice.

May Providence be kind to you sir.

Regards,

Brian J.

7. sam2021

sam2021 New Member

Thanks guys going for the carmel just like the ride and i am not in a hurry to get anywhere. If i remember buildings dont run away.

8. baj32161

baj32161 American Expatriate Tavern Member

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

9. fleeter

Good luck, sam... let us know how you like it!

10. sam2021

sam2021 New Member