Dishwasher help!

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Smiley, Nov 5, 2009.

1. Smiley

Smiley New Member

I figured one of you men would know how to help me out! My dishwasher is leaving my dishes with a yucky white film on everything, and gunk on the glasses that are close to the door. I have a rinsing agent in there, so what do I need to do to fix this?! Help please!!:hate:

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Run it with a bunch of lemon juice in there.

3. Smiley

Smiley New Member

I thought maybe vinegar, but where do I put it? Just dump it in the bottom?

4. vitapimp

vitapimp New Member

fire him/her and get another dishwasher.

when we bought our house it came with a dishwasher. i think in the 8 years that we have lived here we've used it twice. we wash everything by hand.

5. Industry_Hack

I thought that in Texas, loading the dishwasher meant getting your wife drunk...

Pretty sure that was Jeff Foxworthy.

Smiley, does your water suck? Can you drink the tap water?

6. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

Not everything that's hard is good, especially hard water and it sounds like that's what you have. If the other suggestions don't work, you may be lookin' at some water treatment ala reverse osmosis to clear up your spotty dishes.

7. mtndoc

mtndoc New Member

Has the dishwasher always done this? If not then it could be a drainage problem, you might also check to make sure the jets in the spayers aren't clogged.

If it has always done this, it might be a water issue, but the rinsing agent should have fixed that, what rinsing agent is for, it basically breaks down the surface tension of the water so it drains off before it can spot the dishes.