Do I really need fancy pedals and shoes?

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by eynlai, Nov 10, 2010.

1. eynlai

eynlai New Member

Ok, I'm a complete Newbie... So please don't hate me to much for asking the question in the Title.

I've been doing a bit of paved bike trail riding in Southern California area over the last 2 years on my Specialized Sirrus (hybrid). Anywhere from 25 miles to 75 miles per ride. I like the distance so I can "Zen" out, not really a need for speed. I been just riding in my sweats and tennis / running shoes.

Yesterday, I finally picked up a 2010 Specialized Tarmac Comp Double Rival (road bike) at a pretty good deal of $1700 new. I'm pretty sure I'll need some riding shorts or undergarment because the saddle on the Tarmac is virtually not there compared to my old trusty Sirrus... But do I really need the fancy pedal and shoes? Or should I? And why? And I'm looking at keeping it under $190 for shoes and pedal.

Advice?

thanks.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Once they are correctly set up, good shoes/pedals will keep you in proper alignment, and allow more efficient riding and a smoother pedal stroke. Of course, if that's not important to you...

Pricepoint offers excellent combo deals, but I suggest you check with your LBS so you can get the correct size, and have them help you align your cleats. If budget is a big concern, I'd spend money for the most comfortable shoes I could afford, and get some basic pedals for now. A $50 shoe/pedal combo will be more efficient than your Nikes and flat pedals. Shoes get lighter and stiffer (and uglier) as price goes up. Pedals get lighter, have better bearings, and sit lower on their axle as price goes up.

3. jeepster93

jeepster93 New Member

You need pedals/shoes.
    They don't need to be expensive, but you should get a set.

The bike most likely came without.