Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,867 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's easy to go 55 in a 35 zone, everyone else is doing it. Speed limits are set to increase safety of road users. Do you follow the herd or do you think for yourself when driving?

The math of speed. I believe a driver going 35 is much less likely to kill a bicyclist than a driver going 55. Less time to see the cyclist, less time to react.

·
Two skinny J's
21,369 Posts
When in Rome...:D

·
Registered
2,867 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Rushing to the least common denominator? The common man America holds in so high regard is upon analysis a bit too common.

Follow the herd or lead by example?

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
We have police using unmarked cars of all flavors, including an Escalade. In town, or anywhere I might encounter non-automobile traffic, I tend to adhere to the posted limit.

·
Registered
7,011 Posts
In towns and back roads, I follow posted limits.
On the open highway, I lean toward following the old "reasonable and prudent" laws. If there is a lot of traffic, I'm at the limit or flow of traffic. If weather is bad, i'm under the limit. If it is a clear day and open road, Katey Bar the Door.

On the bike, I do not follow the posted limits.
Generally, I'm under the limit. ;o) However, when I can, I go over.
I always stop / yield at the proper signs.

·
Premium Member
1,215 Posts
I've driven like an old guy since I was young, I never intentionally go more than 5 to 7 miles over the limit, I would always do what ever it took to not get pulled over. (maybe a habit from my youth when I may or may not have been following all the laws to the letter) 1 ticket in 36 years of driving.:D

·
1,200 Posts
i am pretty good about running the speed limits in under 55 zones.. now when on interstate in POV i'll go a tad faster, though when working DOT around here been cracking down so i'll mind my P's and Q's

·
Premium Member
5,352 Posts