• Mountain Only

Votes: 3 10.7%
  • Road and Mountain

Votes: 18 64.3%
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
I voted both, but it's all one bike. A lightweight mtn. bike with 1.5" street tires. I'd like a little smaller tire but that's the smallest I could find for a 26" wheel.
It's my "Urban Assault Vehicle" for bike paths, sidewalks & streets in SW Florida. Not too many mountains here, but the low gearing is good when I get off into soft sand. Also good for crawling over these 70' bridges when there's a 15 knot headwind. The bad news is that it has a 20 mph top speed.

·
American Expatriate
248 Posts
Road only, when I started riding, back in the stone age there was no such thing as a mountain bike.

·
♥'s Bicycles
499 Posts
I voted "both" although it's about 90% pavement riding and only 10% off road.

·
Registered
141 Posts
Even when I had my mountain bike, most of the time was on pavement. So, I got a new bike more suited for pavement, plus got one hek of a deal and couldn't pass it up:)

·
Registered
37 Posts
If you would have asked this question two weeks ago I would have answered road only. But I picked up a free Raleigh Tangent MTB last week and after looking it over carefully I think I will rebuild it into a hybrid, street and off-road. It has cantilever brakes, Shimano Deore LX 21-spd, and Rapid Fire shifters which I think I am gonna like A LOT!

Although I plan to keep at least one road bike, at my age I think bending over into a racing position isn't as comfortable as riding upright again. :D

Steve

Attachments

·
The Bearded Wonder
561 Posts
Road only, now, however I'm still on the lookout for my stolen MTB...

·
Registered
37 Posts
Does that sticker on the big ring say "Biopace"?