Doing your own maintenance?

Discussion in 'Road Bikes' started by Mike1jw, Oct 15, 2009.

1. Mike1jw

Mike1jw Member

Now that I have my new bike, I wondering if doing my own maintenance is a good idea. I am mechanicly inclined, and would like to do it, but I wonder if I should just leave it all to the LBS. Is there anywhere I can get detailed instructions on MY specific components (Shimano Ultegra {I think 6600}). I would love to do this, but I don't want to start experimenting on my bike without first understanding how things come apart and go back together. Also, I'm sure I'll have to get specific tools, maybe a torque wrench and more. Any suggestions?

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

It's a bicycle. Check the Park Tools website, and Sheldon Brown. Other than a few things involving specialized tools, there's not much you can't do. Routine maintenance only requires a few basic tools.

3. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

It's an excellent idea. I wouldn't have it any other way.

4. Industry_Hack

Unless you have a Headshok.

5. Mike1jw

Mike1jw Member

What's a Headshok?

6. hophead

It's one of Cannondale's many attempts to reinvent the wheel. Well, figuratively that is. Actually, they reinvented the suspension fork putting the squishy part between the crown and head tube and then they reinvented it again with the Lefty.
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Oct 15, 2009
  7. Industry_Hack

Have you ridden one? The stiffness is awesome. I've only got about 80mm of travel, but rolling on 88 needle bearings, it's silky. Just hard to tune. And servicing one intimidated me.

Off their wiki: