First road bike upgrade?

Discussion in 'Road Bikes' started by fleeter, Feb 23, 2010.

1. fleeter

fleeter The Bearded Wonder

Hey guys!

I just wanted to pick your brains on what you typically upgrade first when you purchase a bike (assuming it doesn't have all the stuff you want in the first place). I know answers are going to be all over the board, but just let me know.

Do you first get a new saddle? or do you have a favorite brand of wheels that you always get? crankset and pedals? What do you upgrade first?

2. synack

synack The Back Row

Pedals for me.

3. rola643

rola643 Two skinny Js Staff Member Admin Staff Mod Team Tavern Member

Imho - w-h-e-e-l-s, but I'm pretty new to riding too. That will be my next investment. I'm looking at Mavic Ksyrium SL but they would be at the upper limit of what I would spend on my current bike.

Mavic Ksyrium SL Rear Wheel

4. Doohickie

Doohickie Older than Hack

Whatever breaks first. It's a new bike, right? It should work great for a while.

5. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Contact points, then whatever wears out, unless a smokin' deal comes along.

6. jad3

jad3 Helmet up, wheels down.

Where I go shopping is probably a better question...old my old bike!

7. chh55

chh55 Drink plenty of water!!!