Folding Bike Forum

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by Stangle, Dec 21, 2009.

1. Stangle

Stangle Guest

Awesome a Folding Bike forum. These are usually only manufacturers forums so you end up talking about the same thing over and over. I carry a Dahon for everyday commuting and I'm looking into some of more expensive models. Folding Bike Riders are few so I hope there's a lot on here.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Welcome! I have a very vintage R20, and wish there was some way I could justify a Dahon.

3. Biker

Biker New Member

Welcome, are dahon's the upscale folder?

4. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Welcome! I dig the look. The utilitarian aspect as well.

5. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff

I personally haven't noticed much difference in quality among the various folding bike manufactures.

6. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Really? I've heard things about the simplicity of design and how some companies make it horribly difficult to assemble. Just reading reviews mind you. I haven't really heard anything about riding on them.

7. Industry_Hack

Dahon makes some expensive, very fast bikes. They're considered more of a premium folder than something like a Downtube. Of course, Yan from Downtube designs his own bikes, and handles all the distribution, which keeps the price down.

8. kegoguinness

kegoguinness New Member

Folders can be cheap ( in terms of quality and price) and very expensive. I have a Dahon Speed P8. It's a middle-of-the-road folder. Very decent bike, nothing to write home about. Good for short rides around the city and my multi-modal commute.
    I also have a Bike Friday. Expensive and fantastic road/touring bike. There is a major difference between this and the Dahon. The BF feels and rides like a full-size bike. Only it climbs better :)

9. Industry_Hack