Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
1,189 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the sport (6 weeks) and have been riding farther and longer with each ride. Today I rode 22.5 miles nonstop, my longest ride and my longest ride without stopping for a break.

My issue is, when I got off my bike today, my right foot started to ache terribly, almost unbearably on the underside, right side a couple inches behind my pinky toe. It was very sensitive to walk or even stand and I even struggled driving home. Once home it was still painful, but slowly over about 4 hours it retuned to normal, but I can still press my foot and feel the sensitivity. Standing barefoot on a hard surface, there is a noticeable lump under my foot as if standing on cotton pads stacked a couple high.

Any thoughts?

I was fitted properly for my bike, but I do have a leg (right leg) shorter than the other. Is it possible that I need a spacer between my shoe and cleat to make up the difference? or do you think it could be something else?

Also, tonight I slid my right cleat as far forward to try to make up a difference in the leg inequality. Although I haven't tried it yet, do you think this could help?

Thanks for any feedback:)

·
Premium Member
1,830 Posts
Awesome job on the longest ride!! Be careful playing with the cleat position on your own. Mere mm's of movement in the cleat can really come back to bite you.

As far as a fit goes, I'd highly recommend a RETUL fit. They are pricey, but are about as accurate is it gets when it comes to setting up cleat/seat positions.

Has your leg been diagnosed as shorter on the right side, or is the angle of your pelvis off due to muscle imbalances of some kind causing the length descrepancy? Was there any right knee pain, or just the foot? How about right hip?