Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The Local LBS said that forks are somewhat universal. There are about 4 different "fits". I was wondering If anyone would be able to tell me if one of those would fit a wellington 2.0? Here is a link to the bike http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/windsor/wellington2_IX.htm The fork they have listed says its a DuraForte TaperBlade CroMoly. Which to me is spanish.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Any one of you ever replaced a fork? Does it take a lot or could someone with a decent amount of mechanical skill figure it?

·
Premium Member
5,352 Posts
By looking at the pictures you need a 1" threaded fork. Its best to also match the angle of your existing fork so you dont overly change the geometry of the bike. Unforturnately BD specs dont offer much info. I am going by the picture of the bike.

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Forks come in a few standard varieties, with the technical difference being the steerer tube. That's the bit that goes through your frame, and interfaces with your stem.

Steerer tubes can either be threaded, with a quill type stem (as used on the Windsor) rides inside the steerer, and a headset that's threaded onto the frame. They can also be threadless, where the stem clamps to the outside of the steerer, and the entire headset is press fit only. To complicate matters, they are either 1", or 1-1/8". Yes, there are a few other sizes, but those the common ones. Most modern mountain bikes and non-steel road bikes will be 1-1/8', which department store bikes, X-Mart bikes, and some current steel road bikes are 1".

I'll let that sink in while I get some work done. Maybe someone can post examples of them before I get back.

·
12,350 Posts