Frame size

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by Nigal, Dec 17, 2009.

1. Nigal

Nigal YAY BAIKS! Tavern Member

I have never understood fitting and sizes in the bike industry. I have a chance to buy a really nice frame for next to nothing but I'm not sure the frame will fit me. I'm 6' with a 31-32 inseam. The frame is 23 1/2".

2. wild

wild Yesterday tired old man, Today retired old man

I don't know how you could tell with just a number. I have a Cannondale quick 6 that has a 17" frame that is marked large. I am getting a Fuji with a 19: frame that is marked medium but th Fuji has a shorter top tube at 19 then the Cannondale has at 17. What I am trying to ay is how can you tell if you don't sit on the bike. I will say that I feel stretched out on the Cannondale , but the Fuji feels like it is not stretching me out.:confused:

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Here we go again.

The two measurements you need to concern yourself with are stand-over, and top tube length. Seat heights are adjustable, but you don't want a foot of post sticking out. Nor do you want the seat resting on the top tube. You also need to be able to swing a leg over the frame without smacking your sensitive bits.

While I personally find that the stand-over can be a deal breaker for me, some people insist that top tube length is more important. Too short, and you're cramped. Too long, and you're over-extended. Yes, you can get a longer or shorter stem, but that affects handling.

Unless you have plenty of experience with sizing, you wont be able to look at specs and determine if a bike is a good fit for you. If you really want some opinions from internet people, take a photo of yourself straddling the bike, and one of you holding the bars, then post them online. If you're an attractive and fit woman, please do so in a bikini. ;)

4. IanHighfield

IanHighfield New Member

100% yes to this man's opinion on frames and women.