Friction vs. Indexing Shifters

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by Nigal, Jan 7, 2010.

1. Nigal

Nigal YAY BAIKS! Tavern Member

Which do you guys prefer and why? What are the down sides to each?

2. lotek

lotek New Member

I like vintage bikes so most of my bikes are friction, and the best of those are
    Simplex Retrofriction shifters (super LJ). My Serotta has ergo and I have to admit I like
    it quite a bit, the one big plus is I can shift while out of the saddle, something that for
    me was difficult at best with friction.
    Downside to indexed (brake shifter combo)? expensive to replace and a bitch to work on.

Marty

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

I had friction back in the day, and really preferred it to the new SIS crap.

4. IanHighfield

IanHighfield New Member

Detest index brake lever shifters. Bar end on aero trial bike and down tube friction on classic division trial bike. I've already swapped out the brake levers on my new Specialized Allez. Had a bracket made up at the shop for the oversize down tube and put some old Campy friction levers there where they belong. Hate, hate, hate, brake shifters!!! Worst idea of all time.

5. Industry_Hack

The MTB versions are even worse.

6. Mootsguy

Mootsguy A Red Headed Stepchild

So why isn't the older and better stuff still around? Must be a reason eh?

I far prefer the newer stuff and double tap absolutely rocks. Mind you I am not saying that the friction stuff was bad or didn't work well, I am simply saying the new stuff is better.

I can't remember the last time I had to trim a derailleur...;)

7. CTD50

CTD50 DX's Biggest Member

Wow, lotta retrogrouch hate here.

Friction shifters are simple, yes; less tuning is required, as you 'tune' it while you use it.

That said, I'll give up my X.9 triggers when you pry my cold dead fingers from my bar.