From Alaska to Argentina

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by paraisoscondido, Jan 23, 2010.

1. paraisoscondido

paraisoscondido New Member

Hi,
    we are preparing this touring trip and we are looking for a good two frames (man and woman) and I´d love to know experiences and brands from people who has done long distances touring
    Thanks

2. HandsomeRyan

HandsomeRyan ♥'s Bicycles

Surly Long Haul Trucker.

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

My friend and his wife did the Continental Divide on Rohloff-equipped mountain bikes.

As to the question posed by the OP, I am confused. I would expect anyone with thoughts of undertaking such a ride would have a pretty good idea of the equipment required.

4. BlazingPedals

BlazingPedals Member

Surly and Heron come to mind. Waterford, too. Don't you know any good framebuilders who are local to you? Assenmacher would be near the top of my list, if for no other reason than that they're 45 miles from my house. OTOH, I'd worry about the wheels more than the frame; most name brand touring frames will be plenty strong enough.

Where in Alaska are you starting? I'd want to do the part through Alaska and Canada supported. Towns (and food) are few and far between up there.

5. HandsomeRyan

HandsomeRyan ♥'s Bicycles

A pair of those hubs cost more than my wife and bring home after taxes in a month. *jealous*

Sun rims CR-18 36 hole rims. Not the lightest or the prettiest but ridiculously strong and made to go the distance.

6. Industry_Hack

He, um, used to own a website you happen to frequent. ;)

7. paraisoscondido

Thanks

Hi all,
    I´m new in this forum
    Thanks everybody for all your sugestions,