Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So we were on a local bike trail, and I kind of went over the speed limit (posted at 20mph). Came to a point where I needed to brake, and was going faster than I'd really expected. I was able to stop in time, but took longer than I like because I still have a fear of the front brake.

What is the proper way to use the front brake and not go over the handlebars? This particular bike is a Trek 7.5 but I'm assuming the proper way would work on a road bike as well.

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Squeeze it smoothly. Worst case, shift your weight off the back of the seat. In an emergency stop, where you might need to bail, that's what you should be doing anyway. I would suggested you practice on flat ground, perhaps even dry grass. You want to find the point where the wheel is about to lock, but doesn't. And that varies by tire and terrain.

With practice, it becomes second nature. When I do an emergency stop on my motorcycle, the back wheel makes a little chirp as it leaves the ground and comes back down. I can find that point where braking is right at the threshold of skidding the front wheel, and the weight transfer will lift the back wheel off the ground, but only an inch or so. And I got that skill from bicycling.

·
Registered
1,223 Posts
Don't be afraid of the front brake. Can you go over the handlebars? Yes and its happened to me, but in that case my rear brakes totally failed. The odds of that are a million to one, and less than that if you are not a 13 year old that didn't pay as much attention to maintenance as he should have. Didn't hurt either me or the bike, other than the ribbing I have taken over the years for flipping over a snake. Thought I had finally lived it down till one of the guys that saw it found me a few days ago, and he was still laughing. Wanted to know if I wanted a pet water moccasin.