Fuji Absolute 1.0 or Trek FX 7.6

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by telliemj, Dec 3, 2009.

1. telliemj

telliemj New Member

Hello everyone, I am fairly new to biking and I am in the middle of an endless search for the right bike for me. I think I have narrowed it down to either the Fuji Absolute 1.0 or the Trek 7.6 FX. I am looking for peoples opinions on the differences between them.

What I think I have learned is that the rear derailler, chain, and cassette (all shimano 105) for the Absolute is better that the components on the trek. The prices for these bikes are within $10 of eachother. The crank (FSA Gossamer) for the Absolute is a little better than the (FSA vero) for the trek. I really do not know which bike wins in the front derailler category due to the fact that Fuji doesnt use a normal product name for the front derailler (Shimano FD-R773). The trek is a Deore which I believe is a mountain bike derailler. Some people say that the disk brakes are better but other say that the disks on this bike are entry level at best and therefore your better off with the v-brakes. I have heard good things about the Avid BB7's which are not on either of these bikes. Does anyone know if they use the same mounts as the disk brakes on the Fuji? If they do what else would I need to do to convert them? Any thoughts on that?