Gels Over Liquids.

Discussion in 'Training / Health' started by Farnsworth, Dec 4, 2009.

1. Farnsworth

Farnsworth New Member

I was in my Bike shop after talking to every one yesterday and saw they have all the gels. What's the difference between liquid in gel? Is it just preference or do they put something in gels they don't put in say a Redbull?

2. whyeyebike

whyeyebike New Member

That is an interesting question. I can tell you that I prefer gels over a liquid mainly because they are much easier to carry. I can put 5 or 6 in a jersey pocket if I am doing a long ride and I am good to go. That frees up my water bottle cages for....water. I try to carry the minimum, especially on the long rides, so gel is just more convenient. As far as nutrition, I am not sure what the difference is. I know I prefer gels without caffeine, and your going to get a lot of it in something like a redbull.

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

The gels probably contain a mix of simple and complex carbs, along with electrolytes to aid in fluid replacement. They don't replace water.

Red Bull doesn't have anything in it that a cyclist would want if they are going to be riding for any length of time.

4. IanHighfield

IanHighfield New Member

What is this gel you speak of? Is it like a caffeine infused Jell-O in a package? Have not seen or heard of such a thing.

5. Industry_Hack

Been inside a bike shop lately? :D

6. whyeyebike

whyeyebike New Member

GU is one of the many makers of energy gel. Check them out.

7. IanHighfield

IanHighfield New Member

I know you mean this in good cheer, but no, I almost never do. I work in a bike manufacturing facility of private ownership. Not a public shop with all manner of goods on the counter. My master's place is more like a blacksmith's shop but all bike related.