Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all,

My sports/fitness pursuits were originally confined to running and weightlifting. I've been cycling for 1 year 7 months.

In 2004 while running with my 11 year old we were hit by a driver dialing a cell phone. My son was killed and I nearly lost both legs. The right leg was the worst. The quad tendon was 95% severed. The patella tendon was completely severed. The patella tendon insertion on the shin bone was 60% ripped out. Only 75% of my knee cap remained. The other portion had broken off and had to be removed.

The left leg wasn't much better. Broken tibia and fibula, severed anterior tibial tendon.

Then five weeks of fighting infections in both legs that nearly caused amputation in and of itself.

After two years and 13 surgeries my legs were saved.

For three years after the last surgery I walked for exercise. Then at five years post accident I purchased a bike. I had no idea if my legs could handle cycling but I had grown weary of being a couch potato and gaining excess weight.

The cycling worked wonders for my physical condition. My legs increased in strength and my body weight dropped. I could never have started with weightlifting or running, I was too week and severally injured.

After two months I added swimming to my routine. Then after several months of mailbox to mailbox running in excruciating pain was able to run for a mile. Then five miles. That summer I was able to participate in some short distance triathlons. I was at the back of the pack but had fun. This went on from summer 2009 through summer 2010.

Now at the end of the summer 2010 the knee pain on my right leg is too severe to run. Osteoarthritis due to the trauma has eaten the surface coating of the back side of my knee cap.

So what's my complaint. Lol Well it's hard to convince myself to never run again despite the pain.