Going WalMart free

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by SUX VR40 Rider, Mar 9, 2010.

1. SUX VR40 Rider

SUX VR40 Rider New Member

My wife and I are working on going walmart free. We have found one more item we would rather purchase else where even though it is at a higher price than buying it at walmart.

To date we are walmart free with all of our grocery's, dog food, clothing, sporting goods, hardware, tools, paint, laundry products, housewares, furniture 99% of our hygiene products. The most recent thing we are walmart free with is SafeSkin purple nitrile gloves. We have certain things we use the gloves for, medical care for our dog is one of them. I recently found them at Walgreens. Thus I will never have to buy them from walmart again.

Shopping at walmart is like an addiction. It is very hard to break it. Just a few more things to go and we will be completely walmart free.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

What do you have against WalMart?

3. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

I'll tell ya what I have against Walmart. They sell cheap junk masquerading as mtn bikes. I have nothing against cheap bikes, but I do have a problem with bikes that have knobby tires and dual suspension, but have a sticker that reads: "NOT FOR USE OFF ROAD."

4. Industry_Hack

I don't disagree with that. But they're hardly alone there.

5. fleeter

fleeter The Bearded Wonder

I have family members who won't shop at Walmart just because they feel (and it can probably be substantiated) that Walmart has killed the smaller mom and pop shops because they just can't compete with a giant like that.

I avoid Walmart for a completely different reason -- I hate all the inconsiderate people that clog up the aisles... I'd rather shop somewhere else and pay a little more for a quiet and empty store :)

6. Industry_Hack

Dude, I love the circus!

7. SUX VR40 Rider