Good beginners Roadbike?

Discussion in 'Road Bikes' started by chaco24, May 20, 2010.

1. chaco24

chaco24 New Member

What is a good road bike for a complete beginner? I've got about $700.00 total that I can spend, Ill be riding about 10 - 50 miles a week on the bike. Thanks in advance for your suggestions.

2. chaco24

chaco24 New Member

come on guys, no one has any advice or suggestions for me?

3. wild

wild Yesterday tired old man, Today retired old man

I can't help as I ride a flat bar road bike, but I think for $700 you might have to look at used or leftover. maybe a Fuji Newest 2.0 can be had for that in an 09

4. greenhorn

greenhorn greenhorn

Just saw this question....I bought a 2009 left over from a local bike shop.
    Regular $850, I bought it for $650, brand new.
    It is a Giant Defy, and as an entry level it is nice. It's light and fast. I would check with local bike shops, especially right now any left overs will be sold at a discount, some even deal with the newer models.
    But in my opinion, the Giant Defy is a nice bike for what you're looking for. I'm ready to be blasted by the guys that ride 100 miles a day, but you and I both know they didn't really read your question when they reply.

5. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff

Single speed or geared? What is the commute like? Flat? Hills?

6. chaco24

chaco24 New Member

I'm looking something with gears, and the commute is flats mixed with some hills. Eventually though I am going to want to do some long distance riding (50-80 miles) so I'd like to get a road bike that will be capable of doing that with little or no upgrading, if that is possible in my price range.

7. jagonz456

jagonz456 New Member

you can pick up a specialized Allez double for around that price range. I would also look at the trek 1.2. test ride both and see what you like more. dont go by the internet price you can pick these bikes up for less than MSRP at your local bike shop.

8. photosbymark