Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

At Road Holland, we embrace the ride… not the race. So often we find ourselves snapping the perfect photo along the route that really captures the moment. These photos tell the real story of cycling, something you just don’t see when just focused on a peloton. Got such a photo? Enter it into our Contest!

http://seriousandstylish.com/2012/03/21/introducing-our-bike-photo-contest-everyones-a-winner/

We know you have the photos just sitting there on your hard drive.... why not send them in and try and win some great gear?

·
Registered
1,223 Posts
Gee if you give a few people a $20 gift certificate for your product, when the true value of a photo for publication should be (sarcasm mode on) just a tiny bit more.

No thanks an even non pros should get paid fair value for the use of their work. Most of these types of contests are bad deals for anyone but the holder of the contest

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Mark, I think it's just a marketing gimmick. I didn't see where they said they were going to do anything with the photos. If you like their clothing, it's an easy way to get $20 off.

·
Registered
1,223 Posts
I never post pics much of any where unless they r to sell. Many if not most TOS are designed to take the pics you put there and find ways for them to make money without you getting paid. Who would have thought a photographer would want to get paid? Imagine that. Yet so many sites and companies think you ought to be happy with just the pride of being published. Contest r sometimes the worst. To participate u give them commercial rights to the image. They might get thousands of images and build up a database they use as free stock photography, but only pay the top two or three and even then it's not market value. They might sell that image ten times or publish it weekly for years, and if it didn't win the photographer got nothing and likely no credit either

·