Handlebar Helmet Lock

Discussion in 'Gear & Accessories' started by funetical, Dec 21, 2009.

1. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Cruising around town yesterday I see a chained up bike with it's helmet attached to the handle bars. Seemed cool so you wouldn't have to carry it every where. Any body ever seen one of these? I looked like a good kick could have knocked it free but I don't know. To be clear it was a device that attached the helmet to the handle bars. Genius!

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Dude, have you ever heard of a motorcycle?

3. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

No Industry I haven't but that's OK this is a cycling forum. Why? Do they make those for the motorcycles?

4. Industry_Hack

Yeah, most motorcycles come with a helmet lock that latches on the D ring. Seems like you could make something similar for a bicycle. But I'm not sure why.

[edit] I hope no one mistakes our banter for actual arguing.

5. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I could see how they might. I'm saying I saw it rigged up on a bicycle attached to a post though so somebody has made the transition. I'm sure if they market it they could get crazy rich. Like three wives living in Utah rich.

6. Industry_Hack

Why would anyone want three wives? One is more than enough. It was too much trouble just juggling a wife and a girlfriend.

You should have taken a photo.

7. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I don't carry a camera or a phone. I like to be disconnected. I did look up motorcycles with it though to see if I can modify the design like the other person did. It was sweet. I had never seen it on Motorcycles either so as you could imagine my mind is still blown.

8. Industry_Hack

9. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

So maybe just making a smaller one then? What's the typical diameter for a motorcycle handle?

10. Industry_Hack

I think the bars on my Harley are 1".

11. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.