Healthy Snacks

Discussion in 'Training / Health' started by TxCyclist, Mar 18, 2010.

1. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff

I'm trying to lose some weight and finding myself growing tired of eating fruit as an afternoon snack.

Any suggestions?

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Fruit has a lot of sugar. Switch to veggies. Also, walnuts and almonds are really good for you, in moderate quantities.

3. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I eat a lot of dried fruit. Figs and dates. Filling. Also raisins, and Turkish apricots. I eat very little fresh fruit. It's difficult to keep if your not going to the store every other day. You said your working away from fruit but with the exception of veggies I don't really know any other way to eat healthy.

4. Industry_Hack

You are what you eat.

5. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

So then you're a nut?

6. Smiley

Smiley New Member

Ha! Lots of fruits and nuts on this site. :D I would do the vegies as well. Orrrrr, just burn more calories than you consume. Drink a LOT of water as well. Good luck!

7. chh55

chh55 Drink plenty of water!!!

I stopped using energy additives to my drinking water and started eating more dried fruit and nuts while riding. Figs, pears, apples, peanuts, almonds, hazelnuts and such. I just stuff some in one of my jersey pockets without a plastic bag or anything... makes it very easy to just reach back and grab something... no 2 handed hassles with wrappers. It is cheaper than all those expensive additives and to my mind, less chemical and more natural. I get a smooth energy boost which lasts a long time and less "raid the fridge" feeling when I get home.

8. fleeter

fleeter The Bearded Wonder

...pizza, hamburgers, lard. (If I slow everybody else down, I'll feel faster!) ;)

9. wild

wild Yesterday tired old man, Today retired old man