Hello from New Zealand

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by craisin, Dec 9, 2009.

1. craisin

craisin New Member

Hi I am 60 years old I have reverted to cycling because of the economic situation plus I need to keep fit
    I am building a motored bike out of an old racing Raleigh it has a 28 inch front wheel and a 26 inch wheel on the back
    6 speed indexed gears and a jackshaft and a 48cc chinese 2 stroke.
    My other bike is also a Raleigh but a mountain bike 21 speed.
    I am mostly friendly but am still learning about cycling

2. KShep

KShep Zensunni Wanderer

Welcome to the forum!

New Zealand is on my short list of places to visit. I've heard it's a beautiful country with quite a variety of ecospheres.

3. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

So are we. ;) Welcome!

4. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Kia ora! What part of New Zealand are you from?

5. craisin

craisin New Member

Hack Im from West Auckland and kia ora to ypu
    Obviously you have some local knowledge
    thanks

6. Industry_Hack

I spent some time there. Got lost and circled Parnell for an hour in a Kea camper, so I can't say that Auckland was my favorite part of New Zealand. Still the nicest place I've ever visited though.

7. craisin

craisin New Member

Xela I am most parts friendly. But I dont like people who try to alter the course of my life.
    I have often wondered about cyclists that tour our country with extreme loads on their bikes, but there is are cycle ways to be constructed soon we are told

There has been tourist attacked before but I dont think our country is the worst in the world by far, you may find it relaxing and peaceful.
    So most Kiwis welcome people from overseas but there is always somebody that takes exception to strangers and questions about our history can be touchy.
    I myself am Scots, English and Maori so I have to put up with both sides of the debate about the Colonization of this country