Helmet

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by garydodovich, Aug 17, 2014.

1. garydodovich

garydodovich New Member

I just started riding fixed and have been hit by a car in my first week. What's a good looking helmet that's not to fancy?

2. Ericlkelly

Ericlkelly New Member

The modular helmets are extremely popular with the ADV and sport-touring crowds. At the base level, all modular helmets have a chin bar that can be flipped up. At the next level, helmets like the Shark Evoline 3 ST completely flip up and around to the back of the head for full-on aerodynamic open-face riding. Others, like the Scorpion EXO-900 and the Nolan N44, can be reconfigured from a full-face helmet to a comfortable open-face helmet in a matter of seconds with removable parts. Both of these helmets have removable visors and chin bars and can be configured multiple ways. It's important to consider the level of versatility you desire when buying a modular helmet, as the chin bar systems, face shields, and occasional sun visors vary from helmet to helmet. If you are finding a best writing support then you can just click this weblink for more details.

3. Merlincustom

Merlincustom Senior Member

Good looking and fancy are in the eyes of the beholder. I'd just do "bike helmet" image search on google, or look stop into your LBS.

4. John_V

John_V Well-Known Member Tavern Member

^ This!

All helmets sold in the US have to meet a minimum specification for head protection. That means that a $25.00 helmet purchased at WalMart will protect your head just as much as a $250.00 helmet purchased at your LBS. The two major differences is weight and cooling. The more expensive the helmet, the lighter it is and the more it ventilates (or so it's said). I live in Florida and have a $55.00 Giro Rift that is not heavy (for it's price range) and does an excellent job of cooling during our summers. It's the one I'm wearing in my avatar.

5. TruElvis

TruElvis Two "Slow" Spoke Tavern Member