Help! Advice on getting into cycling.

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by chocolatediet, Feb 15, 2010.

1. chocolatediet

chocolatediet New Member

I'm new to cycling & would like any advice on getting into the sport. FYI, I'm a 44 yr. old woman, mother of 5, riding a cheap Giant Mnt. Bike. I'm on week 2 of a training schedule I found online, few offered. I did 35 m. last week while my goal was only 27 m., according to the schedule. My intention is to log 500 m. on my crap bike & the buy a new Trek road bike. I just want to be sure I'm committed before I drop any more money into it. So far I've bought a water cage, bottle, computer/odometer & bike-mounted pump & had to buy 1 new tube. I'm hoping to buy the Trek by September.

2. HandsomeRyan

HandsomeRyan ♥'s Bicycles

Welcome. Sounds like you are on the right track. Getting a floor pump to keep your tires topped off will be a lot easier than using the frame pump.

Was there anything specific you needed help with because you sound like you are already well underway?

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Get yourself a good base of several hundred miles, then work on intensity and intervals. It really doesn't matter what bike you use.

4. chocolatediet

chocolatediet New Member

Thanks for the input. I already owned a floor pump. Thursday I am attending a bike maintenance class--I hope the info soaks in. I dread having a breakdown miles from home & having to hoof it back. I did that recently but just a mile away--thus the frame pump.