Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Regardless of what kind of bicycle you ride, it's imperative that we all make our voices heard. If not, the already dismal amount of Transportation Enhancements money set aside for cycling and walking will be cut to zero.

See the article here.

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
We won!

The U.S. Senate affirmed its time-tested support of bicycling last week by forcing Senator Tom Coburn of Oklahoma to withdraw his proposal to eliminate dedicated funding for the Transportation Enhancements program.

IMBA supporters and our bicycle advocacy partner organizations influenced this outcome with 50,000 emails and thousands of phone calls to U.S. Senators in just 48 hours. Thank you!

As a result, funding for all federal transportation programs has been extended to March 31, 2012. The key, cost-effective programs that make bicycling safer and easier — Transportation Enhancements, Safe Routes to School and Recreational Trails — will continue to receive modest, dedicated support, about 1.5 percent of the total federal transportation investment.

A huge thanks go to the thousands of Americans, our supporters, who rallied quickly to contact their elected officials on this challenge. We will continue to keep you posted on key issues and opportunities that affect the future of bicycling in the United States.

Sincerely,

Jenn Dice, IMBA Government Affairs Director

·
Registered
2 Posts
To Jenn Dice:
I just read the news regarding Oklahoma Senator Tom Coburn withdrawing his proposal to eliminate dedicated funding for bicycle - transportation projects.
When is the next time the senate will vote on this funding? I'd like to call my senator and tell her to vote for continued funding of these bicycle transportation projects. I am a bicycle commuter, and I find the need for more dedicated bike lanes where I live to be necessary.

·
Registered