Help me find a bike rack

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by jacksmom97, Aug 22, 2010.

1. jacksmom97

jacksmom97 jacksmom97

I recently bought a Specialized Ariel hybrid for me...love it and my son has a Specialized MTB and I am trying to find a decent rack for my car (Nissan Maxima)...bought a Saris Bones 2 today...thinking about returning it...after 2 hours of installing and trying to fit both bikes on, my son and I were both frustrated. Should I return it for the Bones 3...and use bungee cords to secure the bikes so they won't rum on the bumper? I thought the idea of a bike rack was to keep the bikes AWAY from the car....thanks for any suggestions:)

2. awinter

awinter No longer a newb!

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Did you buy it from a bike shop? They should at least show you the basics. I like the Hollywood racks for their simplicity. They're similar to the bones, but easier to use.

4. jacksmom97

jacksmom97 jacksmom97

thanks for the info on bike racks

I did buy it from a LBS...I did some research on the Hollywood racks and yea, they seem easier...I was wondering about how heavy they are since I will be the one putting it on and taking it off and I am lightweight...there are a few shops here who sell the line so I will go by this week and check them out before I settle on the Bones 3...the Bones 2 does not hold 2 bikes...but the Bones 3 does, according to the reviews. Thanks again!

5. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

I don't think any of those racks weigh as much as the bikes do.

6. jacksmom97

jacksmom97 jacksmom97

Oh that is funny! Never thought about it in those terms...

7. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member