Help With Trainer

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by StormStrikes, May 16, 2020.

1. StormStrikes

StormStrikes Member

Tonight I tried a workout on the trainer that I included an interval for Zone 7 power which at my current FTP puts me holding 320W+ for that particular interval. However, I ran into an issue and ultimately had to bail on that particular interval.

When I started into that interval, my tire started spinning out quite a bit on the trainer so there was a whole lot of extra effort trying to hold that level. I was able to do so for the first three such intervals, but the last two I just could not do it. It spins out some in Zone 6, but I can manage it. I never tried a Zone 7 interval until tonight.

I have never used a trainer tire before, but I am wondering if that is something that would help? I use a Kurt Kinetic trainer and the roller is in good contact with the tire. I usually turn the tension know two full turns from first contact with the tire.

Having never encountered this issue before I am at a loss as to how to address it or if it can be.

newleaf150 likes this.
  2. rola643

rola643 Two skinny Js Staff Member Admin Staff Mod Team Tavern Member

My only suggestion would be 2.5 turns from contact. I've used that for serval years and hit well above that with no issue. Never been above 750 ish tho.

3. StormStrikes

StormStrikes Member

Okay, I can give that a try. Does that add additional difficulty at the lower levels? Or is it purely for maintaining good contact?

4. rola643

rola643 Two skinny Js Staff Member Admin Staff Mod Team Tavern Member

No, just tire contact and the load on bearing and spokes :D. Trainer difficulty should be set in the trainer itself. I use a Wahoo and for years left it at the default 50% and this year have moved it to 80% which can be brutal on some of the hills in Zwift

5. StormStrikes

StormStrikes Member

Oh, well Im still in the 2010's. I have a dumb trainer.

rola643 likes this.