Hey Im really new to Cycling

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Drcharen, Aug 28, 2009.

1. Drcharen

Drcharen New Member

Well My name is Dan and I'm from Bucks County, Pa. But I go to school at Ohio State so I'm in Columbus, Oh most of the year. I don't actually own nor have i ridden on a road cycle. I play golf for Ohio State, and many of the pros on tour now ride as their primary form of cardio and exercise. So I have decided to look into it. It seems so peaceful to be out on the road. I really could use some help with information pertaining to cycles or anything in the cycling world really. I have begun to look into different types of bikes but don't know what I'm looking at. I don't really have much money to spend on a bike but would like to get started the right way. Looking forward to learning a lot more and meeting some good people!

2. wild

wild Yesterday tired old man, Today retired old man

Welcome Dan. I ride 10 miles a day Rx by my Hart DR it takes me 55 minets and I think it gives me a good workout. as for a bike look on craigslist.org you can find some good buys. I would look at a hybrid if your not going off roading My .02

3. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

Dan, as you make this decision, feel free to ask any specific questions you have. We like to help!

4. Drcharen

Drcharen New Member

To be honest I have no idea where to begin. All I know is that Cycling is one of THE best exercises you can do. Im very fit to start. 5'10 175lbs. During the school year I am in the weight room 4-5 days a week at 630am working out whether it be 2/3 cardio days or 2/3 lifting days. I am looking at this as a way to lean out a little more. I love watching the different Tours on tv and have become very intrigued by riding. I would love to gather information about what types of bikes to look at. Lance was just in Columbus today with Pelotonia riding from Ohio State to Ohio U in Athens, OH. and wish i could have taken part.

5. mtndoc

mtndoc New Member