home made frames

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by Oneway, Oct 17, 2009.

1. Oneway

Oneway Boston Biker

Does anyone make one or two frames at home or is the fixturing too difficult? I'm curious if it is doable. I'd need a tube set and I imagine a difficult set up.

I'd like to try to replicate a circa 1968 Lygie with extra long (comfortable) wheelbase, long back stays, short top tube perfect for touring. Likewise I contemplate a weather proof commutor with lights, fenders and enclosed chain.

2. stdu007

stdu007 New Member

seam to be a beautifull project ... but not an easy one ... good luck !!!

3. HandsomeRyan

HandsomeRyan ♥'s Bicycles

There are people who do this but it isn't cheap.

Another option is to enroll in a "frame building school" where you can use someone elses equipment. (there are a few out there, try a google search).

4. Oneway

Oneway Boston Biker

5. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

I can put you in touch with someone that can build your frame for you. To build a jig, and buy the welding equipment and other necessary tools would cost more than a custom frame. Then there's the skill issue too. If you want to build a bunch, then it's worthwhile.

6. IanHighfield

IanHighfield New Member

What this man said in spades.

You need a sound jig. This piece of gear is of more value than 100 frames and more difficult to build in the first place. Then there is the welding. I've been at steel frames for 4 years now and I'm just now getting decent.

Worthy project, difficult task.

7. Oneway

Oneway Boston Biker

I value your thoughts and trust all the offered advice.....but, ever the contrarian, what if one wanted to copy an existing frame? What do you suppose finished tolerances should be on lengths and angles for different parts of a frame?