How do you get in to profesional Cycling?

Discussion in 'Professional Cycling' started by Ted, Sep 30, 2009.

1. Ted

Ted Guest

I've always been curios. There aren't any bicycle scouts hanging out at high schools or are there? and I just realized I misspelled the thread header.

Last edited: Sep 30, 2009
  2. radracer

radracer Guest

3. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Is anybody here cycle professionally?

4. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

It wouldn't make sense to scout at the high school level for cycling. You just have to get out there and enter races. Once you start winning, you can shop around for sponsors. It's not terribly difficult to get a few sponsors, but to do it as a full time job is rare except for at the highest level.

I do know that Fox has a position called "Talent Acquisition", which is their scout. I found his card the other day.

5. johnny

johnny Guest

Where do you find out where to sign up for the races?

6. Industry_Hack

Check with your local bike shop. Someone there will know.

7. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

My local bike shop is run by potheads who are barely familiar with their surroundings let alone bike races. Every time I ask a question they giggle and say dude.

8. Industry_Hack

Do they share?

9. lotek

lotek New Member

Wrong shop.
    Central Texas?
    find a good shop, and not one run by potheads.
    I would imagine that a shop like Mellow Johnny's would have local races
    posted. Go on some of the local training rides and find out where the local
    races are being held.
    Then check out the TXBRA website :
    TXBRA.org = The Texas Bicycle Racing Association
    they list events all around the state

Marty

10. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I just saw these. Good links and to answer your question Industry I never asked.

11. Mr_T

Mr_T Guest

How can I become more famous as a cyclist so I will just get invited to the races?

12. Industry_Hack