How long do I have to rest between rides?

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by cvgreg, Jun 16, 2010.

1. cvgreg

cvgreg New Member

I have just begun to ride my 'tour of the US'; Dallas to New Orleans to Wisconsin to mid South Dakota and then from Canada to Mexico along the Pacific Coast. At 67 years old, just starting biking, and I'm trying to get in shape.

My first day out (yesterday) I made almost 20 miles in 100 degree weather but was pooped. Today, I was out of breath and my thighs were aching after only 2 miles. How long do I need to rest to be able to ride again? Can I expect ro put on 30 to 50 miles a day, every day, while I am just starting?

Thanks for any advice.

CV Greg

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

First, consult your doctor, if you haven't already. Then make sure that your bike fits you properly.

Once that's out of the way, there are 100 other items to address. Make sure you're properly hydrated and getting adequate nutrients. Are you spinning, or mashing? Shifting to an easier gear and bringing your RPMs up means you'll use your lungs rather than legs, and also promotes blood flow into muscles, which will ease the buildup of lactic acid.

Without knowing what your current level of fitness is, it would be hard to say how many miles you should be able to ride each day.

3. cvgreg

cvgreg New Member

Thanks, Hack,

I am right now mashing but trying to get and keep my RPM's up. I currently turn between 60 and 80 RPM until I hit some hills. My lung capacity is increasing but still not up to where I want it. I simply try to ride more each day and take one day off each week to recoup.

CVGreg

4. Industry_Hack

Well, you're kinda going about it the hard way. But you may want to try some intervals - put in a hard effort for one out of every ten minutes, resting for the other nine.

5. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff