Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Specialized Crosstrail
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding pretty steadily for about 6 months now, and have thought about getting a helmet, but still haven't done it. I purposely choose streets to ride on with little or no traffic, back streets, almost alley like shortcuts, parks and the like, but of course there's still no garrantee that a accident of some kind won't happen. Just wondering how many here care, or don't care to much about wearing one. The majority of bikers around here that wear them are the guys who look like they spent a grand on their racing suits on their 2-3K road bikes, but they almost always are mixed in with heavier traffic on nice paved city streets and probably don't care for the often bumpy uneven back roads that I'm on.

·
Registered
1,223 Posts
Where you ride has nothing to do with the need for a helmet. A dump truck can leave loose gravel on the road to dump you, a tire going down at the wrong time can be a problem and a host of other things can put you on the ground including your own inattention. I didn't wear one as a kid, but back then no one ever wore one. The racers I think at that time were using the leather things.

Helmets are cheap. Even if you never use it, isn't your head worth $20??? If you need it and don't have it, the hospital bill can be $20,000. Seems to me to be a no brainer. Pun intended.