How Much?

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by Cyclomatic, Oct 26, 2009.

1. Cyclomatic

Cyclomatic Guest

I'm pretty new to cycling. That being said as I'm navigating the internet how much should I be looking to spend on a new road bike? Prices seem high upwards of a few thousand dollars. Is that what people are paying? Does anybody recommend some lower end bikes?

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

What do you plan on doing with your bike, and how much do you want to spend?

3. Cyclomatic

Cyclomatic Guest

Cruising around town. I have $600. I would also like the ability to maybe modify/make nicer over time.

4. mediageni.us

mediageni.us Guest

Check out Wabi Cycles. I'm planning on using one as a basis for a project bike, and will be posting about it on the forums.

5. coco2

coco2 Well-Known Member

oooh i do like the look of the wabi lightning fixed... do they do export to scotland??

6. mediageni.us

mediageni.us Guest

Not that I'm aware of, but I'll check. Usually the cost of shipping is prohibitive.

And to the OP, I got this thread confused with another, so my apologies that I've linked to a single speed. You're probably looking for a bike with multiple gears. For budget-minded road bikes, check BikesDirect.

7. vanessalvs

vanessalvs Guest

I was looking at bikesdirect.com, how is the overall quality of the bikes they sell on this site? Are they reputable?

8. Industry_Hack

Mike buys direct from the manufacturer, and basically brands the bikes as his own. So you're probably getting a frame as good as any of the big brands at a slightly lower price. That would make them comparable to a name brand selling at a price point $100-300 higher, depending on the bike.