How old is (are) your bike (bikes)?

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by baj32161, Mar 28, 2010.

1. baj32161

baj32161 American Expatriate Tavern Member

Just wondering how long we keep our bikes. My primary bike I bought new in 2005 (NOS 2004 LeMond) and my backup roadie is a 2003 Raleigh Grand Sport. I see no reason to get rid of either of them or to buy another new roadie. I may pick up a hybrid for our crushed stone bike path but other than that....I figure if it ain't broke, don't fix it.

Cheers,

Brian J.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

R20 is from about 1974.
    Cannondale MTB is a 2002, I think.
    Electra beach cruiser 2004?
    Haro BMX 2004 or 2005
    Wabi Classic is a 2010
    Windsor The Hour is a 2009

3. Doohickie

Doohickie Older than Hack

1966 Raleigh DL-1 Tourist
    1973 Schwinn Varsity (Tourist Conversion)
    1983 Raleigh Marathon
    1987 Schwinn Prelude
    1994 Nishiki Sport XRS hybrid
    2009 Schwinn Cutter

4. BlazingPedals

BlazingPedals Member

The oldest rideable bikes I have are 1997 vintage. I also have a 'project' bike: a 1952 Firestone Deluxe Cruiser.

5. Grenouille

Grenouille Grenouille

09 Marin Fairfax (8 days old today)
    @ 99 Specialized Crossroads hybrid. Heavy but still a great bike
    '73 Royce Union something. Ten speeds, even. (Kid road it a lot in last couple years, still useable).

6. CTD50

CTD50 DX's Biggest Member

My Dakar XLT, main ride, is an '05 (bought/built up on clearance in '07).

My still-to-be-rebuilt hardtail is (no screeches or catcalls, please) a Pacific, sold through Wally World in late 2000-mid 2001. Hands down, the BEST product Pacific has ever built. 19" HT frame that weighs in at 4lb. even, 6061 alu. If it had been made with disc tabs, it would have been nearly perfect.

7. Engyo

Engyo Bent Newbie - old rider

I have a 1984 Trek 620 (26 y/o) and a 2008 Rans V3.

8. greenhorn

greenhorn greenhorn