How to Change to Compact Crank

Discussion in 'Road Bikes' started by dirdick, Aug 3, 2010.

1. dirdick

dirdick Junior Member

I've got a Giant OCR-2 triple and want to change over to a compact crank 50/34 but am not sure what bottom bracket and crankset combo will work for a reasonable price. I went to the LBS yesterday and they told me to buy a new bike. So, can someone help me out on what will work??

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Go back to that LBS and ask them for the name of a good shop to buy a new bike from. ;)

Does your bike come in a compact version? If so, check the specs for the BB on that model.

3. dirdick

dirdick Junior Member

The bike seems to always be a triple, so I guess the starting pt is the bottom bracket??? Online search gives says that that particular year OCR-2 has a BB-7420, but, I'm not sure what that means exactly. I also don't know anyone who has gone over to the compact crankset - I guess I can go to one of the bike shops in a nearby town (22 mi away) where the people are a little nicer. (The LBS was taken over by the owner's grandson so that may be part of the attitude issue ... )

4. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

For this one, it would be worthwhile to speak with a knowledgeable shop.

5. flanderscycling

flanderscycling New Member

What's wrong with the triple?

6. BlazingPedals

BlazingPedals Member

To me, compacts are nothing but a marketing ploy for people who need a lower gear than a road double offers but are too vain to install a triple or a wider-range cassette. Or, in the other direction, you really, really need to save 30 grams and are willing to give up two low gears and a high gear to do it.

But... if you've got your heart set on it, why not get a new 2-piece, external-BB set? Then you won't have to worry about matching the BB because it's included.

7. flanderscycling