Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking to get a bike to do rail trails and road biking... my LBS have Raleigh, Trek, Cannondale, and Janis in the area...

It's been pouring all week so I haven't been able to test drive a things, but I've been soaking up the reviews...

I'm looking to spend $750 to $1000... I guess I'm presently most interested int the Trek DS series, the Quick CX series, and the Janis Coda series? I'm intrigued by the 'steel frame' mania some seem to have...

My main concern is that these are too far towards 'mountain bikes' and I won't really enjoy road biking on them...

I'm a beginner cyclist and heavy... 220lbs 5' 7"... Hoping to do fitness biking/commuting as well.

Any advice?

Javasligner

·
Registered
26 Posts
You'll spend less starting with a cheap bike and if ya stay with it, buy a better bike. I am on a used old Huffy, and still not ready to invest 300 dollars. And i have lost 15 pounds, in a month. If ya stick with it, get a better, high dollar bike.

·
Registered
94 Posts