Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
and I have no idea what to do with them or how they work? they are Diadoro, size 8 1/2. WPD-813 pedals.

help please :)
I really do not want to FALL trying to get into or out of the peddles. they were free and no idea if they are a good brand? or anything about them.
:confused:

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Do the shoes already have the cleats mounted? It's very important that they are properly aligned.

The Wellgo pedals are designed for mountain bikes. So back the truck up. Diadora shoes should be for road bikes - are they drilled for SPD compatible cleats? Basically, is there a little piece of metal, or a big piece of plastic on the bottom?

·
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yes the shoes have the cleates mounted. so are you saying I have road bike shoes and moutain bike peddles? I just know the shoes fit really well but as I said I know NOTHING about how to use them or if they are anygood?

·
12,350 Posts
Ok, no worries. They're fine, at least from a compatibility standpoint. That allen screw on the pedal controls the tension of the jaws. You may want to loosen them up a bit, until you get used to clipping in and out.

To step in, that pointy bit at the front goes in first, then you step hard, like mashing a spider. To release, you rotate your foot outward, from the heel. If you try to pull up, or pull the ball of your foot out first, you will probably not be too happy. Ever stepped on a cigarette but to put it out? It's a swiveling motion like that, where you turn on the ball of your foot, while twisting your heel away from the bike. You may want to try it leaning against a fence or wall first. It becomes 2nd nature pretty quick.

Obligatory link to Jock's interview. (I promise it's a good read, if a bit scary)

·
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·